Cricket records obliterated in Indian batsman’s INSANE knock – Fox Sports

Indian batsman Narayan Jagadeesan shattered a number of List A cricket records on his way to a stunning 277 off 141 balls for Tamil Nadu against Arunachal Pradesh at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.
ESPN Cricinfo reported Jagadeesan’s blistering knock was the highest individual score in men’s List A cricket, after breaking the previous record of 268 by Alistair Brown against Glamorgan in 2002.
Watch Australia v England. Every ODI live and ad-break free in play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

Jagadeesan’s 277 is also the highest score in all List A cricket, surpassing 271 not out by Sripali Weerakkody against Pushpadana Ladies in the 2007 Sri Lanka Women’s One-Day tournament.
The 26-year-old also became the first player to score hundreds in five consecutive innings in men’s List A cricket.
The previous record was jointly held by three batters who had four centuries in a row – Kumar Sangakkara in 2014-15, Alviro Petersen in 2015-16 and Devdutt Padikkal in 2020-21.
Tamil Nadu’s score of 506 for 2 saw them become the first team to score 500-plus runs in men’s List A cricket, breaking the previous mark of 498 for 4 by England against Netherlands earlier this year.
Jagadeesan equalled the record for least amount of balls for his double century (114), with Travis Head also taking 114 balls for his double ton against Queensland in the Marsh One-Day Cup last year.

The strike rate of 196.45 by Jagadeesan in his 141-ball 277 was the highest for any double hundred in men’s List A cricket, eclipsing Travis Head’s 181.1 when he scored 230 off 127 balls against Queensland in 2021.
None of the remaining 36 double-centuries in this format had a strike-rate of more than 175.
The partnership of 416 between Jagadeesan and B Sai Sudharsan for the first wicket, saw them become the first pair to share a 400-run stand for any wicket in men’s List A cricket.
The 114 runs conceded by Chetan Anand of Arunachal in his ten overs, was the most by a bowler in a men’s List A match, eclipsing Mick Lewis’ 113 runs in an ODI against South Africa in 2006.

Jagadeesan’s five hundreds in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy is the most by any batter in an edition of this competition.
Virat Kohli (2008-09), Devdutt Padikkal (2020-21), Prithvi Shaw (2020-21) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021-22) – all had four hundreds.
The 15 sixes by Jagadeesan in his innings of 277 was the most by any batter in a Vijay Hazare Trophy innings, beating the 12 sixes by Yashasvi Jaiswal during his 203 against Jharkhand in the 2019-20 season.
Jagadeesan’s mark of 799 runs in this tournament is the second most by a batter in an edition of Vijay Hazare Trophy, with the record of 827 by Prithvi Shaw during the 2020-21 season firmly in his sights.
The winning margin of 435 by Tamil Nadu against Arunachal was the biggest win in terms of runs in men’s List A cricket, breaking the previous mark of 346 runs for Somerset in 1990 when they bowled out Devon for 67 runs while defending their 413 for 4.


Leave a Comment